The World's Airlines

Past, Present & Future

Home The World Africa Americas Europe Rest of World Airline Tickets Airline History

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DR Congo) is a nation in central Africa, The region was first united as the Congo Free State, a colony created by Belgian king Leopold I in the late 19th century. The colony was called the Belgian Congo from 1908 until 1960, when it gained independence as the Republic of the Congo. It's name was changed to the Democratic Republic of the Congo in 1964 and then to Zaire in 1971. In 1965 Mobutu seized control of the country, ruling for more than 30 years until he was overthrown in 1997 by rebels under the leadership of Laurent Désiré Kabila. Kabila changed the country's name back to the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). The DRC is bordered on the north by the Central African Republic and Sudan; on the east by Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Lake Tanganyika (which separates the DRC from Tanzania); on the south by Zambia and Angola; and on the west by the Republic of the Congo and the Angolan exclave of Cabinda. The equator crosses the northern DRC. Kinshasa is the capital and largest city.

AirlineOperating DatesStatusComments

Air Brousse

1954* - 1967Inactive

Air Brousse ceased operations on 31Dec1966 and taken over by Air Congo on 30Jun1967

^ Genealogy -  

Air Congo

1961 - 1971Renamed

Air Congo was on founded 06Jun1961, commenced ops on 29Jun1961 & to Air Zaïre on 27Oct1971

^ Genealogy - Air Congo >Air Zaire +>Lina Congo (1)

AMAC (Agence de Messagerios Aeriennes du Congo)

1971* - 1971Renamed


^ Genealogy - >AMAZ


1970* - 1970*Inactive


^ Genealogy -