The World's Airlines

Past, Present & Future

Home The World Africa Americas Europe Rest of World Airline Tickets Contributors

Yemen was formerly commonly called South Yemen, former country of Asia, now comprising the southern part of the Republic of Yemen. The former PDRY is located on the southern coast of the Arabian Peninsula. Founded in 1967 as the People's Democratic Republic of Southern Yemen, it was renamed the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen (PDRY) in 1970. Until 1990, the PDRY was governed by the 111-member Supreme People's Council under a constitution enacted in 1970. The country's capital was Aden. On May 22, 1990, in accordance with a constitution drafted nine years earlier, the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen and the Yemen Arab Republic (YAR) established a unified state.

Airline Operating Dates IATA : ICAO Tree Status Update Reason

 Aden Airways

1949* - 1967     Inactive  

 Alyemda-Democratic Yemen Airlines

1961* - 1996 DY : DYA >Yemenia Renamed  

 BASCO (Brothers Air Service)

1967 - 1967     Inactive  

 Yemen Airways

1972 - 1978 IY : --- >Yemenia Renamed  

 Yemen Airways

1989* - 1990*   >Yemenia Status?